The Pretenders release a new record after 8 years, REYMER launches a new single, Katie Melua a video

The Pretenders to release their first album for eight years!
‘Alone’ will be released on October 21st through BMG Records

The Pretenders will release their brand new album, ‘Alone’ on October 21st through BMG. It is the first Pretenders album for eight years and was recorded  in Nashville. Originally intended as a solo follow-up to 2014’s ‘Stockholm’, it soon dawned that those driving guitars, ragged but righteous arrangements, tough yet tender lyrics delivered by the most beautifully distinctive voice of a generation, sounded fantastically familiar. The Pretenders were back. 36 years after their remarkable first album, ‘Alone’ could be the older, wiser, badder sister to that exhilarating debut.

The Pretenders have revealed a brand new video for ‘Holy Commotion’ today. ‘Holy Commotion’ is the first track to be taken from their new album. The part-animated video was shot in Nashville at Dan Auerbach’s studio and includes footage of Chrissie and Dan, edited by Director / Animator Luca Monterosso Whittmann.
Watch the video for ‘Holy Commotion’ here.
Chrissie Hynde recorded the album in Nashville with Dan Auerbach, from The Black Keys, who stood as captain, producer and multi-instrumentalist on the record, an album which sees Chrissie at her searingly honest, most incisive best.

The full band joining Chrissie and Dan on the album features Johnny Cash’s former bass player Dave Roe and country rocker Kenny Vaughan on guitar plus sundry members of Dan Auerbach’s side project The Arcs: Richard Swift, drums, Leon Michels, keyboards and Russ Pahl providing sly curlicues of pedal steel. The album was mixed by Tchad Blake (Arctic Monkeys, Peter Gabriel, Elvis Costello). Duane Eddy also features on the punchy ‘Never Be Together’.

Of the new album Chrissie Hynde said the following: “This record is what I love the most – real people playing real music. I sang and recorded every vocal in a 48 hour period – 48 hours to sing them, 40 years of preparation!”.

‘Alone’will be available on CD/LP/Digital on October 21st through BMG Records and a PIAS distribution.

Track listing
1. Alone
2. Roadie Man
3. Gotta Wait
4. Never Be Together
5. Let’s Get Lost
6. Chord Lord
7. Blue Eyed Sky
8. The Man You Are
9. One More Day
10. I Hate Myself
11. Death Is Not Enough
12. Holy Commotion (BONUS TRACK)

01. Alone
02. Roadie Man
03. Gotta Wait
04. Never Be Together
05. Let’s Get Lost
06. Chord Lord
07. Blue Eyed Sky
08. The Man You Are
09. One More Day
10. I Hate Myself
11. Death Is Not Enough
(with Holy Commotion included as bonus track with ALBUM download card)