MIKE + THE MECHANICS release new album ‘OUT OF THE BLUE’

‘Out Of The Blue’ is the ninth studio album from the acclaimed Mike + The Mechanics, and captures the evolution of some of the band’s most loved hits throughout their 35-year career, as well as introducing fans to the band’s future with three brand new tracks – ‘One Way’, ‘What Would You Do’ and the album’s lead single of the same name ‘Out Of The Blue.

Upon announcing the release of the album, Mike Rutherford explained, “Having toured with the Mechanics over the last 10 years, I have heard the old songs change a bit each year with Andrew and Tim singing and the same band playing. In some cases they have been extended and developed – so it seemed a good idea to record these versions in the studio.

“Anyone who has seen us live will I’m sure like to hear the old ones in this form as they show how the two singers work so well together. Especially on a song like ‘Get Up’ which has become a double lead vocal.

“Recording the unplugged version was like in the old days – down the stairs into a basement studio not fifty yards away from Trident Studios where we recorded Genesis’ second and third albums.

“We recorded these live and Tim and Andrew led the songs with great vocal performances, and we mixed it as we recorded it – like in the past. No wonder albums took a maximum of three weeks to complete then! We have also written and recorded three new songs which show the Mechanics next stage – I hope!”

Mike + The Mechanics formed in 1985 by Mike Rutherford originally featuring Paul Young of Sad Café and Paul Carrack of Ace as frontmen, the band immediately stood apart from their contemporaries with their unusual line up of two vocalists. Together, they achieved huge commercial success throughout the 80s and 90s with a series of albums including ‘Mike + The Mechanics’, ‘The Living Years’, ‘Word of Mouth’, ‘Beggar On A Beach Of Gold’ and ‘M6’.

Astonishingly, the band started as a side project by Mike but went on to become almost as ubiquitous as Genesis with a run of hits including ‘Silent Running’, ‘Over My Shoulder’, ‘All I Need Is A Miracle’ and the stunning US and Australian Number One single ‘The Living Years’. After Paul Young’s sudden death in 2000, the band released one further album before deciding to call it a day. Mike went on to perform a series of sell-out concerts with a reformed Genesis in 2007, before turning his attention once more to songwriting.

Despite never expecting to start work with the Mechanics again, songs soon started to take shape and Mike invited singers Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar to work on the material with him. Together, the new line-up of Mike + The Mechanics released ‘The Road’ in 2011 and enjoyed huge success on a tour across the UK and Ireland. Following a series of sell-out tours through the UK and Europe, in 2017 they released a brand new studio album ‘Let Me Fly’, their first in six years which broke into the UK top 10. With Gary Wallis on drums, Anthony Drennan on guitar and Luke Juby on keyboards alongside Mike, Andrew and Tim, the Mechanics played a rapturously received US tour in early 2018 before returning to the studio again to record new material.